Where are we?

Welcome back!

Today I have a short geography lesson for you. USF is located in Tampa, it is on the west coast of Florida directly across from Orlando.

florida

If you’re a student you know that most people assume that the University of SOUTH FLORIDA is actually in SOUTH FLORIDA. While, this is not an irrational assumption, it is still a wrong one. The University of Miami, FIU, FAU, and FGCU are all further south than us. Now, I know that it may seem as if my frustration is directed at those who inquire about why USF is not in South Florida, but perhaps it should be directed at the individuals who named the University in the first place. Here’s my question for you: At the time of its creation was USF the southern-most college in Florida? What other explanations are there for the confusion between name and location? Help me out fellow Bulls!

You can submit your answers below in the comment section:)

HP

Leave a comment